Ports closed. No access from outside home network. But where's the problem?!

Hello everyone,

please bear with me as I am an absolute newbie to all of this. :sweat:

I would like to create my own cloud to use with all of my devices (iphone, ipad pro, macbook pro) to not violate gdpr (I’m a teacher and I handle student data).
I have installed nextcloudpi on my raspberry pi 3 B+ and plugged in an external hard drive via usb. Within my network everything works nicely as far as I can see. I can sync folders and when using the web interface on my iphone or ipad I can access my files.
However, I cannot access my nextcloud from outside my network. There seem to be so many possible reasons and I would really appreciate some help in identifying the problem.
I am using a fritzbox 6490 (cable) that I got from my provider. Since I get my internet via cable that apparently means that I do not have a public IPv4. Port forwarding just doesn’t seem to work although I have configured it within my router. My nextcloudpi wizard keeps telling me that both ports 80 and 443 are closed.
I have spent two days (I’m on summer holidays, so truly two days) going through everything I could find (and understand) to try and solve this. So as I said, I am an absolute newbie but very willing to learn and a patient helper would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks a lot!

Hi @kittysuzuki

Looks like you found my post and the other thread already. I link it here anyway for other visitors:

As you can read from the other post, you need your own IPv4 address or you switch to IPv6 with some more effort.
For your own IPv4 address most ISPs offer an “IPv4 option”, meaning your ISP will activate an IPv4 address for you either for free or you have to pay a monthly fee.

Hi @Schmu

Thank you for taking the time to reply! You’re quite right I have found the other thread in which you offered assistance regarding what seems to be the same problem.