Which Hardware equipment for a self-hosted system with approx. 25 people

Hello Community,

We are a small global community of people dedicated to the Buddhist teachings of Dzogchen. We started about 15 years ago to publish documents and records of our teacher online in order to make them available free of charge. In the last few months, especially spurred on by the corona pandemic, the demand for these published media has grown very strongly, as has the desire of many to actively participate in this project.

So we now have the challenge of building a cost-effective, yet well-functioning infrastructure that enables people to communicate with one another in real time, exchange documents and work together on joint projects as quickly as possible.

This is where Nextcloud comes into play as a self-hosted solution and which is why I’m addressing you here today.

I have some experience in server administration due to my job and therefore I would like to set up a server that is suitable for this task. Unfortunately, I can’t find any reasonably conclusive information about the specifications that such a computer should bring.

Therefore, I’ll give you a few key data that might be helpful:
The server can be connected to the Internet via a GigBit connection to a DSL connection with fixed IP and 150MBit upstream and 50MBit downstream. The data stream can be neatly separated from the rest of the network data traffic using VLAN tagging.

We intend to operate Nextcloud with the “Talk” application and the free Collabora Edition. A RAID 5 system that is connected to the server via USB 3.0 serves as data storage. Further features such as e-mail etc. are initially not given priority but can still be implemented afterwards. A Raspberry Pi 4 with 4GB RAM will serve as a reverse proxy.

We expect around 5-15 people to be online all the time in the first 24-48 months. Should there be more after that, we would have to think again about the scalability of the system.