What Should I Do With My Raspberry Pi 5?

I preordered a Raspberry Pi 5 8GB, excited about using a PCIe RAID controller with NextCloud, then I read around a little on these forums. Apparently, RAID is not the magical solution to data safety that I thought it was. After throwing the idea of RAID 5/6 out the window, I thought about RAID 1. It was a perfect 1:1 realtime backup of my data without RAID array issues. Then I read the valid point of “90% of data loss is from accidental deletion”. RAID 1 out as well then. It looks like I made a bit of a mistake purchasing a Pi.

So, what configuration of drives and data backup should I use with this? Still clinging to the idea of PCIe, should I buy a SATA card and do backups via software? Should I still go with RAID? Would USB be enough for a decent NextCloud experience? Needless to say, I’m totally new to NAS.

Go for the pimoroni nvme adapter and then add an ssd.

Pci-e is 2x so be aware if you get a card. Raid is not a backup solution, so worth considering a regular tower pc instead with sata ports.

Or use Ubuntu with open zfs along with the raid card

So if I understand correctly you’re saying to use the NVMe drive for boot and attach a couple of HDDs via USB and set up snapshots to mirrored drives? I guess I should have mentioned that I need at least 6 terabytes of usable storage space. I wanted to use the Pi as I have already sunk $100 into it, but I do know I would find another use for it.

What would the benefit of OpenZFS be?

I read on some other forum that you can force PCIe Gen 3, still one lane though.

Sorry, because this becomes way too much for a casual conversation.

Yes, because Nextcloud performs much better.

No, I would actually skip usb hard drives altogether because they are much slower than nvme.

In this game that is nothing. Unfortunately, even the $6tb mirrored disks will cost you around 300 - $400.

In that case I would ditch the Pi. Sell it to someone for what you paid for it.