Very slow sync (for small files)

I have connected my Raspberry PI and my MAC to a GbE switch port (cabled ethernet). So I have the fastest connection I can have at home. Still it takes a long time to sync files. Yesterday evening I left it at 82MB synced, this morning I woke up and it had done 150MB.

I’m a developer and I noticed it is currently syncing the folder in which I keep my source code for the applications I develop. hence I have lots of very small files (<50KB) as part of an application. Could this be a reason?

In total I have about 50GB to sync, fair to say that the first 40GB went quite fast.It’s only very recently it gets so slow hence I believe it has to do with the many small files. However not sure…

Any way to speed up things?

This issue comes up every now and then.

https://help.nextcloud.com/t/slow-synchronisation-between-desktop-client-and-server/?source_topic_id=11064
https://help.nextcloud.com/t/nextcloud-performance-optimizations-please-contribute?source_topic_id=11064
https://forum.owncloud.org/viewtopic.php?t=30083

I am pretty sure if you look at the reason for that slow sync you will see that it is your db, more specifically your HDD working at 100% constantly.
The only workaround I found is to set innodb_flush_log_at_trx_commit = 2 which can result in data loss on blackouts and stuff like that. Never caused a problem for me though.

While MySQL might have some impact on the synchronization speed, the real and underlying reason for the small sync speed is just the braindead design being used by the sync client. This hasn’t changed since years.

Good synchronization services normally first bake one file, which is able to saturate the available upload bandwidth and then being extracted again on the server.