[Tutorial] Nextcloud on WSL2 (Windows 10 20H2)

Hi Community!

I did spent days now researching the web on how to run WSL2 with Nextcloud and make it accessible for others on my network.
Also I was looking for an way to use my Windows Share as an default Data drive.
Finally I made it and wanted to post my performed steps here for others to save time.
Since this account is brand new I have no trust level and cannot post in the “How To” section.
I am not an Linux expert nor good at coding so if you find any mistakes please inform me and I will try to update the post as fast as I can.
Another issue for new users is that i can only post 4 Links, so at the end of this post you find some links where I removed the “h” from https at the beginning of the link :wink:

I am not responsible for any damage or data loss! You are performing the following steps at your own risk!

How to enable WSL2:
First open an Windows PowerShell as Administrator on your machine.
Enable WSL & Virtual Machine Feature with the following commands.

dism.exe /online /enable-feature /featurename:Microsoft-Windows-Subsystem-Linux /all /norestart

dism.exe /online /enable-feature /featurename:VirtualMachinePlatform /all /norestart

Reboot Windows
Download and run the WSL Update for Windows:

https://wslstorestorage.blob.core.windows.net/wslblob/wsl_update_x64.msi

Open an PowerShell as Administrator and set WSL2 as default Version.

wsl --set-default-version 2

Now you can open up your Windows Store and search for the Linux Distribution you desire (I went with Ubuntu 20.04 LTS for this guide).
For ease of use you can also install the Windows Terminal from the Store.
After you have installed Ubuntu, launch it from the store or from the installed Apps in your start menu.
Set your Username and password as presented by the terminal.

How to setup Nextcloud (incl. LAMP Stack):
Open up the Windows Terminal and add a new Tab with the dropdown for Ubuntu.
First update your installation.

sudo apt-get update