State of SQLite support

I’m relatively new to Nextcloud and I self-host it from a Raspberry Pi 4. It’s not the fastest hardware in the world but it gives me enough performance for my home-use workloads and occasional public shares.

Recently, I was migrating from Raspbian to Ubuntu 20.04 and since I use a separate SSD with self-contained Nextcloud deployment (Docker Compose file and all of the data), I was hoping to just plug in my SSD and do a “docker-compose up -d” and that would be it. Well, it mostly worked but the Postgres container failed because Raspbian is 32 bit but my Ubuntu installation is 64 bit. Of course, dumping the database and restoring from that dump on a new machine worked like a charm but it makes me thinking that I wouldn’t have to do this extra step if I used SQLite and do I really need all of that added complexity.

The problem is, I can’t find any reliable and consistent information on the state of SQLite support in Nextcloud. I’m pretty sure that SQLite by itself can handle a lot more than a few users so it couldn’t be a bottleneck here. What I’m not sure about is how well Nextcloud supports SQLite and what are it’s future prospects on that platform? I searched this forum as well as GitHub and I saw a few pretty disturbing comments where people say that SQLite isn’t reliable and its usage often leads to file locking issues. Is it still true?

bubelov,

I’m thinking about moving from MySQL (MariaDB) to SQLite. I haven’t started yet, but @pmik76 seems to be running NC with SQLite without a problem:
https://help.nextcloud.com/t/nextcloud-and-sqlite/34304

@tflidd also commented on that thread regarding potential for file collisions.

Good luck!

buzz

Thanks for the link! Here is what the doc says about file collision issues:

https://docs.nextcloud.com/server/19/admin_manual/configuration_files/files_locking_transactional.html