Share Link and preview files in web browser

Hello,

I’m new to Nextcloud and I was wondering how I can share a link and let everybody with this link preview files – like images and PDFs – in their web browser.

What already works is that everybody with the shared link of a folder can download every image in it. Only if it’s a registered user it is possible to preview files in the browser but I’d really have this feature for unregistered users too. How can I achieve this?
Dropbox for example makes no difference. There you can preview files in a web browser if you’re a registered user or not. I’d like to have the same behaviour. Is this even possible? I did a lot of google search and also navigated trough the whole Nextcloud settings … but found nothing.

FYI, if you are asking for the why: And don’t want every user to register or download files for just viewing some image files I want to share quickly. In my opinion, this is a must have feature for every cloud server and I’m really surprised that this doesn’t work out of the box in Nextcloud. Or at least, not with the actual Chrome browser.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Patrick

Can you describe this problem in more detail?

On nextcloud 19 beta 2 non-registered users can view pdf files in their browser. Including shared folders - so this bug is likely fixed already.

Thanks Paradox, PDF preview sounds great, what about images?

Ok, let me first try to explain the actual behavior in more detail:
I want to share a folder with some JPEGs and PDFs with a link. No registration needed. When the recipients open the link, they will see all the images and PDFs in list or thumbnail view. Great so far. But when they click on an image or PDF it immediately starts downloading the clicked file. Instead of opening and previewing it in the browser.