Pretty bad desktop client (counting files before showing them to user)

Hello, I’m writing this in case anyone else has experienced it. I’m about to stop using Nextcloud for the company that hired me and suggest another tool for storing their files. I haven’t been able to get the desktop client to work properly. I have good computing capacity, I’m an expert in cloud services, I have implemented a cluster, PostgreSQL in multi-region, and a primary storage in S3 for users to store millions of files. This client is extremely slow, with S3 I have had many problems. It works well for each user but when it comes to sharing folders, it is impossible to rename a folder. I have created an individual implementation without S3 as primary storage and the results are much better, but the Desktop client is still extremely slow and I can’t stop using VirtualDrive, which is where I think the problem lies.

I have purchased a Webdav client and it works well, reaching the conclusion that this method is quite bad. I don’t understand why it has to count the files before showing them to the user, even in this, Microsoft Sharepoint works better. It takes more than 80 minutes to display 40,000 files, while Webdav is immediate and even the Android client does not limit this, and the user does not have to wait.

Nextcloud has seemed like a good open-source tool to me, but this desktop client is really quite bad. Does anyone else have the same problem? Can someone tell me if there is a possibility to continue using VirtualDrive but without counting the files initially? Am I the only one suffering from this problem?

1 Like

That is even without the S3 storage? And the initial sync only, or does it continue to be slow when checking for changes?