Php-mcrypt deprecated

The official documentation (NC 13) suggests installing php-mcrypt as do other guides.

My install throws the error “package ‘php-mcrypt’ has no installation candidate”. This error is the package is deprecated.

I see plenty of other references to this online but no clear solution (I’m not technically trained and so perhaps I’ve overlooked something here). One suggestion is a force install with PECL but the package is deprecated and that suggests this approach opens the server to a known vulnerability.

So - if I follow the PECL route am I opening a vulnerability or does NC implement in such a way this is not a concern?
What is the official path to an install?
A deprecated package doesn’t seem a good foundation to move forward with!
Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @James_O_Stanworth. Could you possibly provide a bit more in terms of details. OS distro etc?

Hi
I’m installing in a vmachine (vmware) using Ubuntu 18.04 lts
For install I’m following both:

and
https://docs.nextcloud.com/server/13/admin_manual/installation/source_installation.html#ubuntu-installation-label
Both of which recommended the php-mcrypt
Thanks

Hi @James_O_Stanworth. I see the official documentation says to try php7.0-mcrypt not just php-mcrypt. So if I may ask, is that the package you are searching for?

Sorry to be a bit fussy here… I’ve not mentioned a specific version but looking again at the official docs the recommendation is PHP = (or greater) 5.6, 7.0, 7.1 or 7.2. While in the example install they use 7.0.
So what does this actually mean? Is 7.2 not supported?
Or is the recommendation to use php7.0-mcrypt with 7.2? (Is this good practice to mix versions?)

No no no mixing at all please. As seen in the error logs in other posts, they state that 7.2 is not officially supported yet. So if you are installing on 7.1 I would think the package would be php7.1-mcrypt , or if you would still like to run it on 7.2 experimentally you can search for php7.2-mcrypt.