Permission on root folder

Hi there,

I’m new to Nextcloud and have my own Nextcloud running. I need this solution for a teacher who wants to upload documents and share with his students. All students should get an own account on nextcloud.

But I do not want everyone to create folders and upload files that I do not see. My question:

Is it possible to deny users the creation of folders and upload files on root folder level? Every user should only operate in the folders that I created.

Thank you very much and kind regards,
Martin

Thank you so far, but problem is still not solved. I try to make it clearer:

That’s how it should be:

• User Group 1:

Read/write anywhere

• User Group 2
    \root → NO PERMISSION TO CREATE/DELETE FOLDER + NO PERMISSION TO UPLOAD
    \root\folder1 (created by User Group 1) → PERMISSION TO CREATE/DELETE FOLDER and UPLOAD

I want users to have full access to nextcloud, but read rights ONLY for ROOT FOLDER.

Thx,
Martin

You can only specify permissions within the whole share, you can’t have different setting in a subfolder. You could do this with external storages that every user mounts and manage the permission via this external storage (like Linux-filesystem, samba, …)

Hi tflidd,

I have the same requirement: I need to build a file access policy and select, for example:

• All users have read-only rights on the root folder
  • Users from the HR group have read/write/create/delete rights within the HR folder
  • Users from the R&D group have read rights on some HR sub-folders, no access to some other HR subfolders and full access rights within their R&D folder
  • Etc.

My understanding is that I could forget implementing such a policy with the File Access Control app. You mention some tweak with external storage and all the files I want to protect are located on an external storage.