On new install of NC 13.0.2.1 cannot run OCC app:disable of broken app that causes PHP Fatal error

For a few hours I had a fully working Nextcloud system running, tested and customised on new hardware with Ubuntu 18.04, PHP 7.2, Apache2 2.4.29, MariaDB 10.1. Then I went and broke itā€¦!
I had installed the ā€œfiles_external_gdriveā€ app with the intention of trying it out. However, I think when I later ā€œdisabledā€ the official ā€œfiles_externalā€ app, this brought Nextcloud crashing down.

[Thu May 31 13:54:52.088060 2018] [php7:error] [pid 12937] [client 127.0.0.1:55508] PHP Fatal error: Interface ā€˜OCA\Files_External\Lib\Config\IBackendProviderā€™ not found in /var/www/nextcloud/apps/files_external_gdrive/lib/AppInfo/Application.php on line 32

I now needed to use the command-line ā€œOCCā€ function to disable the broken Google_Drive app. As I am not experienced with this feature I had to research the docs but it did appear straight forward. Yet it wasnā€™tā€¦

PHP cannot open the OCC script in /var/www/nextcloud and I cannot make out why. Permissions are fine and owner:group is ā€œwww-dataā€. I have not touched (deliberately) the .htaccess file as itā€™s beyond my brain-power.

My Terminal command attempt is:
sysadmin@Nextcloud-Server-0:~$ sudo -u www-data php occ app:disable files_external_gdrive disabled
[sudo] password for sysadmin:
Could not open input file: occ

PHP has a CLI operation that might be relevant to my problem but it is all ā€œsmoke & mirrorsā€ that has me completely baffled.

Any assistance or guidance would be greatly appreciated.
Pete

I tend to use the full path when running occ, for this reason. You appear to be in your userā€™s home directory, so of course PHP canā€™t find occ in that working directory. I always provide the full path so it doesnā€™t matter where I am currently:
sudo -u www-data php /var/www/nextcloud/occ app:disable files_external_gdrive