Nextcloud is gone

Hello Community,

i have a serious problem.
My installation of nextcloud is not working any more. It seems, that it does not be there anymore…

The setting:
I have a ubuntu 20 server with apache running. I installed nextcloud via snap. Everything worked fine for more than a year.
A month ago i have moved to a new place and had to move the server too.
That was the first time i had the server shut down ever.

In the new network it took me some time to get the IP ready, but now i can access the server as it should be.

But when i try opening the webinterface of nextcloud i only get the apache-startpage.
I have looked in the storage of the server and can not find any folder or something named nextcloud in the htdocs-folder.

I am not an expert in this whole field, but i hope here is somebody that can help me.

Greetings
Alex

Hello,

First of all, I am no expert but this wouldn’t have worked to start with.

1. Snap is a self contained package, it comes with it’s own apache, sql and such. There is no need for separate apache installation
  2. If you end up installing apache on that same system running snap nextcloud, it wouldn’t work since there will be port conflict between two apaches unless one of them I guess is running on non standard web port.

If it was working for you in the first setup location, either you had nextcloud working on a different port than 80/443 or your native apache was running on different port.

You should first check that.

Secondly, if that is something you are unable to figure out, first take a snap backup (using snap export command) of your nextcloud (move that backup to a separate disk/location) and then try to remove the native apache installation to see if that makes snap nextcloud working again.