I've got a localhost apache server running. How can I run the setup-nextcloud.php from it?

I’m a designer learning to be a webdev, and I really only know frontend stuff but it seems to me that if I can set up nextcloud on a shared server using the php installer I should be able to do the same thing locally on a home server.

I installed mariadb, apache2, mysql , among other things trying to follow the various tutorials out there. Right now I’ve gotten pretty far through one but I can’t get my DNS record to connect to my local server for some reason. So I thought I would poke around, and in doing so I found the localhost.localdomain page was the default page served to my browser when my apace server is running and therefore I made the guess that I could go to localhost.localdomain/setup-nextcloud.php and run the setup. So I did and this is what I got:

Any thoughts on how I can actually achieve this?

I know there might be some people who will tell me it’s super easy to just do it the manual way, but the manual way isn’t working for me and this… well should work right? I don’t understand why it wouldn’t. So if nothing else I want to understand why it doesn’t work.

AH! I figured it out. PHP wasn’t installed! WHAT???

IDK what was up with that. That’s the thing that’s been so frustrating about so many of these tutorials. They assume I have at least one or two of the dependencies that are commonly used. But this is a fresh install so I don’t. I think this might work now!

okay new problem. Doesn’t have any of the other php stuff installed… I thought I installed that already in one of the other tutorials. Okay I’ll see what I can do about that. Also I can’t write to the webserver. I also thought I did that or something. What’s the command for that? chown something or other? Do I set the write privileges to apache? As a user or a group or what? I’m very new to linux and permissions in general.