It seems like the ip-address is set to an internal or reserved ip-address. This is not supported

Firstly, I’ve only been using Ubuntu Linux for about 2 years.
I am a total newb when it comes to networks and security.
But I wanted to learn, so I bought an Odroid HC4 and have it running openmediavault.
Tried installing Nextcloud and faced several hurdles that I am overcoming very slowly.

First tried to use a reverse-proxy as I thought that was the most secure way, but after failing the whole day, I stopped trying and moved on to the installation without reverse-proxy.
Now finally at the Nextcloud AIO v7.2.1 set up screen when browsing to https://my-Odroid-IP:8080.

I can’t get past this point, I’ve set different A records and got different error messages.
The one I am currently facing is: “It seems like the ip-address is set to an internal or reserved ip-address. This is not supported.” Sounds like this is because I set an A-record for a subdomain ‘nextcloud.mydomain.com’ which points to the IP address of my Odroid. But I have no clue and would love some guidance.

Been searching for solutions and stumbled upon Reddit threads where people are saying that it’s a bad idea to have a public facing Nextcloud instance, when you have such low level skills around networking and security. Kind of makes me worry that I bit up more than I can chew. But anyway, I’d love to learn!

Any advice or tips on how to move forward with the domain name stuff?
And maybe some tips on what I need to learn or tools to use to be able to keep my cloud secure?

So the thing is that AIO can only get a valid certificate automatically which it requires for certain components if you have a domain, configure dns to point at your home network and open port 443 and port that to your server.

If you dont want to make it public-facing, see https://github.com/nextcloud/all-in-one/blob/main/local-instance.md for options.