I give up. Sorry nextcoud, nice in theory very poorly implemented

Nextcloud just seems like alpha software. It sort of works, most of the time.

I’ve been using it for 6 months now but I give up. I want something that just works, nextcloud does not.

I have some gripes wit the way the whole thing works:

• Syncing takes forever because it compares each file individually to the server.

Here’s a suggestion: run find -ls on the client, send the output to the server, run the same command on the server and diff the result. The current approach of a HTTP request for each file flat out sucks.

Then the same thing happens for transfers. Why is it so hard to zip the files that have changed before uploading/downloading them?

I could put up with this incredibly inefficient implementation if it actually worked. It often doesn’t. And when a problem does occur, it doesn’t give meaningful error messages:

“Operation canceled”
“connection closed”

certain files just refuse to sync and this happens near daily. I end up having to delete files form the server, then from local and recreate the files to force them to sync. It seems to be git repositories that cause the most issues, but it makes it impossible to use.

I give up. Sorry guys, it’s a potentially great tool but it’s so poorly implemented it makes it a frustrating experience.

my previous rsync cron, while crude, actually worked without needing constant micromanagement.

1 Like

Which Nextcloud Version you have try? Nextcloud 13 is really stable, Nextcloud 14 not really.

2 Likes

so sad that you are facing these kind of problems.

and of course it’s easy to blame some software for those rather than trying to find the problems in your own setup (which you didn’t give away - so noone knows what, where and how you’re running your nc-instance).