How can I set NextCloud (host&client) to use external hard drives for synching?

I’m seriously considering using NextCloud as my backup method. I’d duplicate my external data drive, mount it as the server’s synch drive, and then take the copy across town to mount as the synch drive on a client system.

I have decades worth of data, so I want to use large external drives in the 4TB range for this, not a small partition on the server’s internal drive. (This is also why I would duplicate the drive locally initially, so the synch would only have to include changes.) I also hope that the drives themselves don’t have to be encrypted, so they can be easily mounted on another machine in an emergency.

I’d probably use the pre-built VM since I’m not a Linux expert, so I’d need to know how to tweak that configuration to do this.

This seems like such a obvious way to set up synchronized off-site backup that I’m amazed not to find instructions on how to set this up. If you want to see lots of folks start to use NextCloud, such a primer would be a big help.

Hi,
I don’t really know much about the VM of what it is build on but in any linux distro you sould be able to mount your HDD to a specific location. You really don’t need to encrypt anything if you don’t want to. Within nextcloud you would have to use the external storage app. For instance I use my nextcloud 10 install to manage some multi media on a external HDD and that is shared with a plex server ( nice self hosted netflix like application to watch stuff with) so that’s not encrypted at all.

I’m not sure if the VM is the way to go for this settup. You would have to mount your external drive inside a VM and then mount it at a specific location within the distro and then use the external storage app to use it in Nextcloud. What virtualisation tools are you using?

I also use Nextcloud as an off-site backup and that works remarkably well.

File sync & share IS NOT a bakup.