Can't access outside my home

Newbie here. Got NextcloudPi running successfully over WiFi. Gave it a static IP address. Opened Ports 80 and 443 on my Google Mesh Router (at least I think I did). Set up a redirect via FREEDNS, which again works great from inside my home.

Outside the home my Nextcloud server is unreachable. Even pinging the IP address from outside my LAN fails.

I’m guess this explains why the LetsEncrypt certificate fails and half the music streaming apps on my phone fail too. They can’t see the server either.

Is there anything obvious I’m not doing?

Thanks and apologies if this is a common question!
Gary

Hi Gary,

could you go a bit more into detail what you did when you “opened ports 80 and 443”? Did you forward the specifically to your NextcloudPi?

/S

Excellent question. The best way I can answer that is via configuration app screenshots:

[Screenshot removed for security reasons]

(The Google Mesh Router has a completely different UI and setup process than any other router I’ve used.)

Does this help?

Hi Gary,

not sure it helps exactly but it makes me more confident that the problem is somewhere there.

I don’t know the Google Mesh Router, so I’m just looking at your screenshot and try to interpret what I’m seeing. It seems to list devices with their open (listening) ports, so we see that your nextcloudpi as well as your Google Home hub seem to have webservers running and are listening on the HTTP and HTTPS ports.
There are mutliple entries for the Google Home hub, with the first one stating “443 -> 443” which looks like what might be a port forwarding. But even if so, it ends at the wrong device…

Googling a bit for Google (ha, ha) I found this tutorial:

https://support.google.com/wifi/answer/6274503

Is that what you did?

/S

That is indeed what I did, but since I don’t know what I’m doing I’m not sure I did it right.

First, I configured Google Home Hub to forward from Port 80 to Port 80, for both IPv4 and IPv6.