Budget App - any interest?

I’ve seen Personal accounting app and https://apps.nextcloud.com/apps/cospend but so far I see no general nextcloud app for budgeting as an alternative to paid services like Mint which harvests your data mercilessly, or YNAB and EveryDollar which are very good and privacy-respecting, but are still paid services you have no control over.

I think a native budget app that integrates with NextCloud would be a great way for individuals, families, and small organizations to collaborate on budgeting. I’m a developer willing to invest time in this but I’m not willing to “go it alone”. Is there anyone else with an interest in seeing this happen?

6 Likes

was discussed before. Would be indeed nice to have, but best would be something that integrates with a existing open source solution; best one that currently doesn’t have a nice server side component or web-interface.

Edit: ah you mentioned it… but why start a new thread? Just reply to the old one.

I will, thanks.

I would be interested. I’ve been using YNAB for a few years, since before they switched to a web app/subscription model. I was disappointed to see my data move to their servers, but YNAB continues to be very helpful to me and my family.

We also still maintain our account detail in Quicken. (Not one of Quicken’s web-based apps, but the actual Quicken installed software.) I’ve looked into migrating the Quicken data to GnuCash with the thought of building a web front end to GnuCash and using GnuCash as a back end to a budgeting tool. But I haven’t started work on that yet. And you’re right that Nextcloud might be the right platform to build on.

What’s the next step?

2 Likes

I’ll get in touch with you!

I stumbled on this thread looking for exactly what you are talking about: a decent personal finance app hosted out of Nextcloud. I’ve been using YNAB and want to do more household accounting, but not with products like Quicken, Mint, etc.