Why does a major Update always make trouble?

Hello,

I am not a IT professional. So my questions.

With update from 19 to 20 the web-updater crushes my installation. This was also the issue comming from 18 to 19.
So on both updates I had to run the setup-nextcloud script to set it up new.

But now i get reports to run OCC commands to fix keys like

“occ db:add-missing-indices”
“occ db:add-missing-primary-keys”

This does not work for my hosted setup!

Would it not be better also to report here the SQL script to run this on DB to make things easy?
Does anybody have a script to run within PHPMyadmin?

Best Regards,

Martin

UPDATE

meanwhile i fixed it with an long ago deprecated app (wow, very professional): OCCWEB A Big THANK YOU to ADPHI (the maker of OCCWEB).

For more Info see https://git.adphi.net/adphi/occweb (!)

Hello Martin,

sorry to hear it. I have updated two NC last three or four major update without that trouble.
The reason why the script do not do it automatic is, in some bigger instances it could be result in a long downtime/maintenance, until all work is done.
But right, there should be a solution for hosted NCs. But the app ossweb still works for a lot of commands.

what exactly did you want to let us know?

That you’re supersmart and saving money on shared hosters while being able to search the forum for a solution on a problem that won’t exist if you’d selfhost or rent a real server?

1 Like

Hello JimmyKater,

well, when the update of major versions regulary fails for hosted installations: what are the plans for NC to avoid this in future?

Furthermore: when the only solution for repair of such issue is the use an obsolete/deprecated third party app (OCCWEB), what shall we use in future versions (what are your plans/instructions)?

Perhaps NC-Team can collaborate with ADPHI to bring his OCCWEB functionality into main apps during installation/update, to make things easy for us, your customers.

Best Regards,

Martin