What is Nextcloud trying to be?

Hi all. I’m new to Nextcloud, just put together a server with NextcloudPi. Had a few rocky starts but now it’s working swimmingly.

I came to Nextcloud, I presume like many, because Dropbox has become a worse product with every iteration. The latest version is almost — well, no almost, absolutely — user-hostile. “All I want is a folder that syncs.”

So after getting into Nextcloud, I’m rather surprised to find so much of the development focused on apps. There are already countless great word processors, image browsers, IM apps… Why is Nextcloud chasing the same strategy that ruined Dropbox?

Also, unless I’ve been looking in the wrong places, it appears that Nextcloud isn’t even done with the “simple folder that syncs” part. Is there truly no client for simple headless servers? I’ve found some articles about running nextcloudcmd on a cron script, that solution seems hacky as hell. Dropbox, for all its faults, had a great daemon.

I don’t get what you want in a headless server.

The sync that the nextcloud client does, doesn’t satisfy you ?

I want to spin up a bunch of Ubuntu web servers that mirror a bunch of folders of static HTML content on my Nextcloud.

I’ve been doing this with Dropbox for close to a year now and it’s mostly magical. The Dropbox daemon is really lightweight and “just works.”

It sounds like I need to install the entire Nextcloud client on a server that doesn’t even have a GUI, and then install a special script that runs NextcloudCmd but doesn’t collide with runs that are already executing… I don’t quite get why the Nextcloud is making RSS readers when it doesn’t even have this basic stuff nailed down.

(that is, unless I’m a dunce and there’s a daemon I can’t find somewhere. There was some chat about it in 2016 but it didn’t seem to go anywhere.)

((here’s that script I found that seems to accomplish the collision detection: https://github.com/qcif/nextcloud-sync-cron ))