Web Update is a nightmare - shared hosting

I’ve been using NextCloud for a couple of years on my shared webspace. Its not the ideal enviroment for NextCloud, but I pay for it anyway and its a way to get more independent from big tech companies. Until I have to update.

NextCloud runs in the server and is accessible from anywhere, which is good. But it also means, I have to keep it up to date, to not make it a security risk. But that has proven to be a nightmare for a long time.

Basically, the web updater always fails to verify the archive. I’m not sure why, could be a limitation of my shared webspace, which I can’t fix. I don’t have system access, so I can’t even check. I always have to manipulate the updater to skip the verification step. I’ve done this for years.

Recently, thats not enough. I always have to generate and provied the updater secret - not to mix up with the other “secret” in the config file, which I did in the past, putting my installation in an infinite update loop. Sometimes it helps just stupidly running the updater again and again, and at somepoint, it will work. At least, it did in the past.

But that is just an nightmare to do. Not enough that I don’t get any notification despite signing up for it, always have to check manually and then start the process manually. Couldn’t there be at least the option to have it update automatically? Plus all the additional, manual steps I have to do to get it actually to update. Its really annyoing, time consuming and overall frustrating to do. So much, that I think about switching back to one of the commercial, closed off cloud storage provider. Just to get that hassle out of my way.