Virtual Drive for Linux

I have used Nextcloud in the past, but abandoned it because it didn’t have a virtual drive, and my collection of files became too large to sync on every machine that needed access to them. Now I hear that there is a virtual drive feature! However, the most recent information that I could find (over a year old) suggests that it doesn’t work on Linux clients. Would someone please confirm this? I have been using Seafile because the drive client works rather well, but only on a limited number of Linux distros, and not at all on FreeBSD. Thanks!

You can add the line showExperimentalOptions=true to the [General] section in the nextcloud.cfg file. The file is located in /home/yourusername/.config/Nextloud. After adding this line the option for Virtual Files should appear in the UI, when you add a new account.

However, apart from a short test when the feature was relatively new, I have no experience with it and can’t tell you how well it works in practice. But there are definitely some limitations compared to Windows, where as far as I understand it, uses some native Windows features in order to provide this functionality.

1 Like

@stroudmw
You can also use WebDAV if you like it. You can use it with a file manager e.g. Nautilus or davfs2.

Accessing Nextcloud files using WebDAV — Nextcloud latest User Manual latest documentation

2 Likes

Does the feature include support for folders that have applied to them client side (e.g. end-to-end) encryption?

@brainchild
For end-to-end encryption you must differ between client side software e.g. Boxcryptor, Cryptomator, … and the Nextcloud end-to-end encryption.

Boxcryptor, Cryptomator, …
In this case for Nextcloud and/or Cloud-WebDAV-services sees only encrypted files. This also applies to the Nextcloud apps for operating systems and mobile devices.

Nextcloud end-to-end