Vcf import: data incomplete

Hi,

I am new to Nextcloud and tried to import from my Mac os10.14/Mojave contacts (iCloud) to my Nextcloud.

I exported the contact from the Mac to vcf 3.0 and imported it to Nextcloud. But unfortunately in Nextcloud the data for the postal address or the names of relatives are not available anymore.

Did I do something wrong? And what can I change to have better results?
Did I overestimate the possibilities of NC or is it a (known) bug?
Is there already a topic answering this problem (I didn’t find it)

Thanks for your help.

Create a new contact record from within the Nextcloud contacts app and fill in the desired data. Then export the newly created contact and a previously imported contact to a vcf file. If you compare both files you will most likely

• see that the imported contact uses a different CardDAV field construct than the newly created one.
  • find the missing data in one of the exoprted files.

Afaik iOS/MaxOS devices are very often using a different CardDAV field contruct than the default one. Nextcloud doesn’t delete this data, so that you continue to sync it, but it might be possible that not all of them is displayed in the web gui.

Hi,

Thanks for the explanation. I followed your suggestions and see the differences in the files.

The imported data are still there, but I cannot see them in the Web GUI? Mmmh. Okay, I see that they are still complete in the Contacts app of ios and osx.

The differenceces in the CardDav field construct make it more difficult to read/understand the UI of the contacts app of ios or osx.

I appreciate your support to understand the problem. And a next question arises: Do you know if there exists a tool to harmonize/ to transfer one field construct to another and to configure the field labels? Or to configure the Nextcloud contact app more appropriate to my needs?

Many thanks for your support.