Utilizing MySQL fulltext index

I am currently running Nextcloud 11, having used OC from 6 through 8, then moving to NC. I have a reasonably large collection of files, in the 10s of millions of rows; I use NC to access my work files (I’m a database consultant) from wherever I happen to be.

The only issue I’ve ever had with %cloud is that the search function is back-breakingly slow, because it uses the double wildcard LIKE operation (e.g., WHERE name LIKE ‘%string%’) which guarantees a full table scan every time.

As a comparison, this query (which is the standard NC search query)…

SELECT
fileid,
storage,
path,
parent,
name,
mimetype,
mimepart,
size,
mtime,
encrypted,
etag,
permissions,
checksum
FROM
oc_filecache
WHERE storage = ‘1’
AND name COLLATE UTF8_general_ci LIKE ‘%clarinet%’;

…takes almost two minutes, whereas this version…

SELECT
fileid,
storage,
…etc…
AND MATCH(Name) AGAINST (‘clarinet’ IN NATURAL LANGUAGE MODE);

…returns in under a second.

What would be the correct way to edit the search query in the NC code to use this version of the search query?

PS: Yes, I’ve investigated the Nextant plugin/Solr addition, and it’s not what I’m after–overkill, and rather resource-hoggy at that.

1 Like

? That would as its a database query and that side of solr is fast anyway.
The slow bit is indexing the documents and that isn’t in your query.

I think Solr is definately the way to go as also it fits Nextclouds federated mode.

A single line can use the local shard to make a distributed search across many installs in a simple command line.
curl 'http://localhost:8983/solr/select?shards=localhost:8983/solr,x.x.x.ip:7574/solr&indent=true&q=ipod+solr'

The only dev work by next cloud would be an infrastructure to provide a secure tunnel to each instance.

https://wiki.apache.org/solr/DistributedSearch