Use any language to develop NextCloud apps?

Hi,
I’m new to Nextcloud. In one of the videos from latest (2023) Nextcloud event it was said that with Hub6 it’s now possible to develop apps in any language, e.g. Go, Python, node.js.
I can’t find more information about this. Where can I find information about the infrastructure architecture and details about the integration scenarios?

Thanks in advance
Helmut

Hi @htammen :slight_smile:

I don’t have the response but, I think @Daphne can respond you :wink:

1 Like

Hi Helmut,
cool that you are interested in this! It’s an experimental project of my team.
The idea is that you can develop an external app in any language of your choice, using API’s.
https://cloud-py-api.github.io/app_api/index.html

The scope of features is limited but will be increased over time.
We now have the possibility to implement the following three features:

1. notifications

2. file action menu item

3. talk bot

(other features are not yet supported. But we would be up for suggestions on GitHub.)

For each feature we made an example app.

python, file action menu and notification: To Gif Example - Apps - App Store - Nextcloud

this app converts an mp4 to a gif

python, talk bot:

This app implements the Nextcloud assistant as a talk bot

python, file action menu:
https://apps.nextcloud.com/apps/upscaler_example
(be aware, this app cannot be run on every instance, it is too large)
This app uses AI to increase the resolution of pictures.

5 Likes

May I suggest to have some generic suggestions:

1. I was not able to find the best location to report questions/issues (as you suggested). There should be one location communicated.
  2. It would be nice to have an overview page of the API similar to the PHP API reference? (One point to discuss details in an issue!)
  3. A change log that one can register for notifications in some wayi would consider very forthcoming.

Cheers
Christian

1 Like

Hi @Daphne,