Nextcloud version (eg, 18.0.2):
18.0.4 (from official docker image)

Operating system and version (eg, Ubuntu 20.04):
Ubuntu 18LTS

Apache or nginx version (eg, Apache 2.4.25):
I believe the docker image uses apache

PHP version (eg, 7.1):

The issue you are facing:
I cannot seem to upgrade via php occ upgrade - it states that this is the latest version.

If this is not the way to upgrade NC - Might someone point to the proper way. To reiterate, I’m using the official docker image, which doesn’t seem to be create a named volume, but if this is meant to be a “get the latest image” – what would be the best way to keep the data/configurations?

Is this the first time you’ve seen this error? (Y/N):
Yes - though I’m new to NC

Steps to replicate it:

1. sudo docker exec -u www-data -it bash
  2. php /var/www/html/occ upgrade

The output of your terminal:

NextCloud is already latest version

The output of your config.php file in /path/to/nextcloud (make sure you remove any identifiable information!):