Two way sync nextcloud from command line

Hi :slight_smile:

How does one do a two way sync from command line? I don’t want to use the entire gui nextcloud desktop client.

I’ve looked at nextcloudcmd, but it seems to only “sync” from your device to the cloud, not the other way around. So if there is a new file on the cloud, it won’t pull it down.

nextcloudcmd is really cool, but would be a whole lot better if it was two-way.

I have no experience with this client but it looks 2-way sync is intended:

In this manner, nextcloudcmd processes the differences between client and server directories and propagates the files to bring both repositories to the same state. Contrary to the GUI-based client, nextcloudcmd does not repeat synchronizations on its own. It also does not monitor for file system changes.

In other words you need to start nextcloudcmd every time you want to sync (or use cron for automated sync) - maybe you missed this fact…

another option would be to use every sync software you like and connect with NC server using WebDAV…

You right. The documentation does imply it’s a two-way sync. Odd. I was seeing one-way sync from only laptop → server.

Let me investigate again and report back.

(It wasn’t the repeat sync part, I was aware of that and had it cron’ed thanks)

You can try crates.io: Rust Package Registry, a NextCloud Client Command Line Interface for Rust.

Why not? Can you say more about what you are trying to do?