Two Nextcloud With Single Database

Hi

We have setup a Replica of our live nextcloud, both works perfect stand alone.

Now we have created a remote user say replica1 in Mysql and grant him access to Nextcloud database on live nextcloud server. Now on replica nexcloud we have defined database information of live cloud with replica user, in config.php.

Then tried to access replica nextcloud, we have accessed login page but when we enter the credentials gets the following error:

Any hint can be useful.
NC: 25.0.3

I know dedicated databases are recommended for each NC server. This is test environment and need to do it as our specific requirements. So if some give idea then it can be a great help

Afaik this is not only recommended, but mandatory. I’m not an expert, but I can think of all sorts of potential issues and conflicts when using an existing database for a second Nextcloud instance

Then you should certainly not mess around with the production database in any way, and therefore not only use a separate database, but a completely separate database instance on a separate server / VM.

Regarding the error message I found this: [Bug]: hash_hkdf(): Argument #2 ($key) cannot be empty · Issue #34012 · nextcloud/server · GitHub Maybe it helps to point you at least in the right direction.

full ack for @bb77

I’m sure application needs write access to DB e.g. to update “last login” timestamp etc…

independent from what you trying to achieve sharing DB is wrong.

• If you look for “integration/acceptance” environment - perform a clone of your production into separate system and use same config…
  • if you look for disaster recovery - it’s harder but more is possible splitting the taks of “restore” into different actions:
    – replicate the storage “fast enough”
    – have a read-only DB replica running and copy transaction logs to the replica
    – know how you make a DB replica read/write and start the replica Nextcloud “primary” (e.g. DNS)