TOTAL newbie questions

Hi everyone
I admit to being overwhelmed by this site. I am totally new to this part of the world.
I want to use Nextcloud to allow me to have some storage and utilize features such as contacts so that I can sync this up with my devices such as mobile.

I know that to get contacts I need to use the Nextcloud app and I was under the impression that signing up for a free account with most providers would let me download said app. So I took the advice of Nextcloud and signed up for a private account and let them select the provider. The choice was tab.digital where I have opened up a new account.

I can set up contacts with this account but when I look at their plans it looks to me that I need to go their ‘Nextcloud Private Cloud’ to be able to install apps which I assume is the contacts app.

I am totally bamboozled by what I need to do. It started out pretty simple but now I have no idea. I am not against paying for what I need but I don’t want really need that much and the option above is about 70 euros.

This question may well get laughed at, but if someone is able to tell me for example, if I need to be on a paid option to get contacts that would help.

Thanks

They have providers with a free test account. Contacts is a among the basic apps, that should not require any extra option (and it does not need many resources). Most people here use their own server, so I cannot recommend a provider, just take a look at different ones, and if that function is not included in the basic package and it is not available for test accounts, I would not consider this provider.

For syncing, on iOS it is possible without an app (just via carddav), android needed an app (davX5). The Nextcloud app is mainly for files, and you can sync the photo gallery from your phone onto your cloud.

Thanks for the reply.