[Solved] Can not upload large file whose name is Chinese

Hello community,

I hope this message finds you well. This is my first time seeking help, and I’m encountering an issue with my Nextcloud server installation. I followed the official instructions using Apache2 and MariaDB.(manual installation with Archive file)

The problem arises when I attempt to upload large files (exceeding 100MB) with Chinese filenames via the web page. The upload process gets stuck at “estimating time left.” Surprisingly, if I change the file name to English, the upload proceeds smoothly. Additionally, I’ve observed that small files (less than 1MB) with Chinese names, including those renamed to match the problematic larger files, succeed to upload.

It seems that the issue is specifically related to the upload of large files with Chinese filenames. Any insights or guidance on resolving this matter would be highly appreciated.

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Best regards,
Toby.Chen

HI,

Have you referred to NC instance logs to see what errors / warnings if any, are being generated.

Thank you for your attention. I have checked logs, there is nothing new in logs after my upload failure.

Hi @Toby_Chen

What level of verbosity are you logs set to output? Make sure you have ALL options checked. You should be seeing something relating to your attempted upload.

From your dashboard:
Adminstration Settings > Logging.

Click on the 3 menu dots to the left of the ‘Level’ heading, select all options.
Retry your upload and see what is entered in to the log.

Have you enabled 4 byte database support, this will almost certainly be needed for Chinese characters.

Enabling MySQL 4-byte support — Nextcloud latest Administration Manual latest documentation (refer to the correct documentation for your release)

Yes, I am. As I installed it following the official instruction, I am sure that I did.

CREATE USER 'username'@'localhost' IDENTIFIED BY 'password';