Security problems after Two Factor TOTP Provider install

On Wednesday the 18th I installed the App Two Factor TOTP Provider in Nexcloud 13… At the beginning I was still enthusiastic, but in the background, invisibly for me problems were approaching.

I already wrote the following text on Wednesday evening.

I’m a little at a loss. This morning I set up Nextcloud locally and created a user. To better secure the accounts, I installed the newcloud app Two Factor TOTP Provider and set it up for the user and the admin. For this purpose I use a YubiKey NEO with NFC in combination with the Yubico Authenticator on my Nexus 6P. I have been using this for more than two years now. What I noticed once I logged out, I had to use the second factor again and again when logging in.

Just a few minutes ago, I clicked into an open browser window where I am logged into GitHub. There it was written that I had to check my security settings immediately, otherwise my account would be blocked. Then I should reinstall two-factor authentication. I wanted to do everything like this, Yubico Authenticator didn’t want to create the same account a second time, so I cancelled. In the meantime everything seems to be all right again.

Unfortunately, I now also have to log in to GitHub again with the 2nd factor each time I log in. Usually this was only the case when I logged in on another device. If I repeatedly logged on to the same device, I never had to repeatedly enter the second factor.
For safety’s sake, I have undone the only change or innovation of the last few days. I uninstalled the 2FA from Nextcloud. I’ve worked in IT for 30 years, but I’ve never been that nervous.
So, I got fired from Google and now I always have to sign up with the 2nd factor. I changed passwords at Google and GitHub. I got kicked out on Twitter too, but I log in with GitHub, then it’s normal.