RPI4 (2GB) Cluster, is this a good idea?

Hello All,

I’m relatively new to this and could use some guidance. I have just completed my first couple of RPI projects, one serves as a retropie system and the other is hosting my personal website. The next project I would like to do is hosting a NextCloud instance including Collabora for use by myself, my wife, and 2-3 other collaborators. I’d like to be able to host and collaborate on docs, store photos, ideally I’d love to even run NextCloud talk. I also want to learn more about distributed system, and was wondering if setting up a RPI cluster to handle the above is a good idea? I already have three RPI4 (2GB) laying around at the moment. Could I cluster those and use them to host the apps above, would I instead want to use Pi’s with more RAM, is this just a dumb idea to begin with :slight_smile: ?

Any advise or guidance is appreciated. I’ve been scouring the forum and online resources but am still a bit unclear as to whether this is both a viable solution or a good idea generally.

Thank ya’ll so much. Please advise if any need any extra info, happy to provide it. Also my apologies if I’m posting in the wrong place, happy to move this to the correct area if so.

Best,

hi @deB4rro5 welcome to the community :handshake:

I’m not using Raspi so no good advice from me in this regards… but been systems engineer long time I give my 2ct to this… Clustering is very complex topic you don’t want to hit unless you know every aspect of your system, you have bullet proof backup and restore, you know how to fix every error your users made themself and all their OS do… then you proceed with with clustering :wink:

In case your wording was not exact and you just meant building a system of multiple Raspi performing one of tasks e.g one running NC, another one Collabora and the 3rd one TURN server - this is OK and should be doable.