Reuploading the same file with an active share by link generates a new link

I should clarify that: I uploaded a file, say recipe.pdf, generated by LaTeX, created a file share by link, made some changes to recipe.pdf, uploaded this changed recipe.pdf via the web interface, and without warning the share link had changed.

On other software, e.g. Dropbox, [I think] this procedure wouldn’t change the share link.

Is this a known bug (or feature)?

Thanks.

(server version 18.0.9)