Question: How to separate private and work data?

Hi all! I’m new to Nextcloud and what I’ve learned until now is just great!!!
I’m thinking of using Nextcloud for private stuff (me, my family and my friends) but also for my business both self hosted.

I’d like to keep private and work data separate. And first I thought I’d get two separate physical servers, one at home and one in my work place. There the data really would be kept separate.
The other possibility I see is to have only one server with two instances of Nextcloud.

What is the best way of doing this? Are there other ways?

Thanks
Freddy

Hello,

two instances sounds overkill, unless you have a really big company - or a really big family!

You could try using groups for this - separate the shared files with groupfolders, and setup permissions so each group can only access their own group folders.

The personal folders are isolated by default.

The files won’t be separated in the filesystem though (they’re under the same root), but you can mount an external storage path for the company, and try to keep most of the company files there.

I think you can use group access rules to isolate the users in the other apps as well, so they don’t see each others in the contact or talk app fex.

with docker you can do this “easy”. if you know how to setup nc with docker.

I would also use one instance only (and I really do :wink: ).

You can either keep the files in seperate folders, create different groups and allow sharing within every user’s own groups.
You can create group folders as ztein already suggested and you create an extra user account for work if you totally want to split it.

I mean, a secure server is a secure server and what’s secure for your work files, is secure for your family. So why maintain two servers with all the necessary effort to keep them up to date and enhance security over time (with new technologies and new threats arise all the time)? :slight_smile: