Problem while trying to setup local storage

Hello,

I am trying to share an external HDD which is in NTFS format but i cannot see the files on the shared folder.

I have setup the mounted drive that i want to share but on the client i cannot see any files
What am i doing wrong?

I am using Ubuntu and i am new with linux so i would appreciate any help from you guys!

BR

If it’s Ubuntu and you’re looking at an NTFS filesystem, have you looked at the permissions you’ve established for the mount? i.e. Is the user that nextcloud runs as (apache?) allowed to view the folder, but are the files set to a different permission level. First off I would suggest that you show us what the file permissions look like in the root of your shared folder

# ls -laZ

The Z above will include the selinux context just in case that’s enabled, which can have an effect on things as well.

Can the nextcloud user read the share in linux terminal?

Starting up this thread again as I am not finding answers anywhere else. I have followed the usual tips to “chown” and “chmod”. This is what the file permissions look like when entering the command you suggested.

Any ideas?

Screenshot from 2023-01-31 16-31-23

I read somewhere that it could be a problem that the external storage is located in /media/user/storage and that it is better if it is placed directly in /media/storage. If so, how do I make it more permanently “stick” in /media/ in stead of going back to /media/user/ after a server reboot?

When trying to open the external storage I get a dialogue window telling me:

"External mount error

There was an error with message: Empty response from the server. Do you want to review mount point config in admin settings page?"

What does that tell me?

Thanks for any help!

I tried this command which was supposed to tell me if I have permission to use the storage:

sudo -u www-data ls -la /media/user/storage

I received the answer: