OCC Completely Missing

I’ve been using NC for several years now very reliably. When upgrades occur, I occassionally do encounter the “occ db:add-missing-indices” error and have used the occ command on those occassions to fix the problem (and typically, yes, I do have to chmod the occ file in order for the command to work). With one of the recent updates, I again encountered the need to fix the missing indices but the occ file is now totally missing (it is typically located in the …\www\nextcloud\ folder (along with a small handfull of other files and folders). Now there are just the 3 typical folders but no files. I have noticed in the past that, during an update, a backup of this directory - and several others - is created and the system seems to keep the past 5 or 6 backups before deleting older ones. But now that backup directory is totally nonexistent, so I’m not sure if the occ command and/or the backups have just been relocated elsewhere or if there is some other problem going on.

If it helps, I am running NC as a docker in the UNRAID OS.

Thoughts?

Which Docker image are you using?

Thanks for responding. I am running linuxserver’s Repository docker.

I think you must not chmod occ because it is not really executed. php is executed.

sudo -u www-data php occ db:add-missing-indices
(not docker version, docker differs)

documentation

You can find here some examples to execute php occ … in docker.

You can find the file occ e.g. with:

find /path/to -name occ

Yes it is correct. You can find big directorys with ncdu. Maybe you find your backups. Please test your backup with restore from time to time. Nextcloud does not backup user files. Make your own backup from Nextcloud installation, Nextcloud configuration, Nextcloud database and user data. I think you can use docker features.

LinuxServer.io has their own update approach and I believe aliases occ somehow. The specifics escape me. You might check their docs and dedicated forum.