NextcloudPi : Backup / store files to Synology NAS?

Hi !

What could be the best way to store my nextcloud data to my synology nas, and backup nextcloud to it too ?
I’m a noob in the linux world, but achieved to get my nextcloud working on my pi :slight_smile:
I’ve read some things about mounting it using fstab, or webdav / nfs / samba ?
Any advices to point me to the right direction appreciated !

Thanks !

And if you synology nas breaks down, you just restore from your backup. Wait, it was on the synology nas as well …

You can either mount the whole data-folder on your linux system via webdav/nfs/scp/samba from your NAS. This way you have the whole storage on your NAS, it will be more difficult to provide alternative access for each user individually on the NAS directly (without passing through Nextcloud). You can use it for each user as external storage, advantage, this user can access the content directly from your NAS (without Nextcloud) but on Nextcloud it is an external storage, not the native storage (so you always have to work in a subfolder).

Use an external harddrive for a backup. It’s probably a good idea to backup your config.php and the Nextcloud database regularly on the NAS as well, especially if you run your RPi from an SD card which happen to fail after some time.

If you are using NCP, it would be good to auto-backup, and maybe also auto-rsync the backups to a different drive (such as your NAS).

In order to access your files over something SAMBA I recommend that you just mount it. NCP has tools for synchronization

See this article

Personally I installed Nextcloud on my NAS Synology and that works perfectly.
Some “regulations” to be made but everything is OK.
Only “soucy” the solution of which I have not found yet: to put the data directory on another volume and not directly in the Nextcloud directory (/data/). Problem of rights certainly.

How did you install Nextcloud on your NAS ? Docker ? If so, what image ?