Nextcloud WebInterface with TheGoodCloud as Provider

Hi there, I am new with Nextcloud, sorry if this is a very basic question. I registered with Nextcloud and chose TheGoodCloud as Provider (free account). When I log in, I can only see a TheGoodCloud-WebInterface and not the NextcloudInterface. With the menu I see, there is no “+Apps” option and I am not able to enable the calendar application.
Is this because I only have a free account? Or because I am using TheGoodCloud as provider?
Am I missing something?
A hint would be very much appreciated, thank you so much!

hey @Jane and welcome to the forums.

thanks for your first participation here.

you signed up with a provider… for free. which means: the provider defines what’s possible and what not with “your” nextcloud. as a matter of fact… it really isn’t “yours” - it’s still theirs and you are just a user of it. and of course you can’t install your own apps there… no “user” is able doing that. and maybe the goodcloud even diabled the calendar for their free-users (i dunno).

so maybe you either want to talk to them to grant you access to a calendar (which most prolly would make you pay for this service) or you’d try another (free-)hoster from the list.

good luck
jimmy

1 Like

Hi Jimmy, thank you for the welcome and for taking the time! That makes it a lot clearer. So if I wanted to use the nextcloud-calendar-app from the nextcloud store, I first would have to provide my own server first?
Jane

Have your own server or signup with another provider serving he calendar app in the free account…

1 Like

Thank you! :slight_smile:

Hi Jane,

Jimmy is essentially correct, as stated in out faq section here:

You can sign up for a free account using Nextclouds simple signup program here. Our free hosting does have some limitations and stricter settings then are the default for our paid subscriptions.