Nextcloud Office and ONLYOFFICE

Hello,

I am a Trainee who is currently testing Nextcloud Office and ONLYOFFICE.

Since I never used one of them before nor have any knowledge about format-types like .docx, .odt or .doc. It is hard to tell which of them is better. Cause so far both are not working as they should. Everything is running on a cloudron-instance. The Nextcloud and the both server we need to connect the tools with the Nextcloud. For that I use the ONLYOFFICE Docs App and the Collabora Online App. In both I just have to set the link to the Nextcloud-Instance where I want to use the tools.

Side Fact: When you have both of the tools activated (and setup with the link to the two cloudron-apps), you have two options to create a “Document”, “Presentation” and “Spreadsheet”. It doesn’t matter which of the options you choose, Nextcloud Office will always be the tool that tries to open the document. When you rightclick a created document, you have the possibility to open it via ONLYOFFICE.

Now let’s take a look to the problems I faced during my time with ONLYOFFICE and Nextcloud Office:

1. Problem I faced was the error “Failed to load Nextcloud Office - Please try again later”

Steps:

1. Click on 

2. Select a "New Document"

3. Loading

4. Fail "Failed to load Nextcloud Office - Please try again later" (Same with existing Documents)

• it was hard to find the solution cause I am just at the beginning of my education and I didn’t set up the Nextcloud
  • most of the fixes didn’t seem like they could fit to my problem
  • to try diff settings I created a whole new Nextcloud Instance and tried some settings → it didn’t work either (even tho it was a fully fresh system)
  • after some time I found out that the WOPI IP-Adress wasn’t correct (on the old Nextcloud-Instance)
  • I removed it, and apparently it worked (on the old Nextcloud-Instance)

2. The problem with .odt documents

Steps:

1. Tried to open an .odt Document

2. Connected to the Nextcloud Office UI