Nextcloud -- Mass Data Migration (file permissions problem)

I’m attempting to mass migrate ~3.5TB of data, locally on the server, into my Nextcloud data folder, but I have encountered permission problems.

I’m running Debian Buster (10) with KDE desktop environment and Open Media Vault 5 installed to handle most server tasks. I’m using Portainer to setup & manage all my docker images, as I am new to Linux & Docker. I pulled linuxserver/nextcloud and linuxserver/mariadb, mostly following @TechnoDadLife Nextcloud tutorial, with adaptation for OMV 5 now using Portainer to manage Docker.

I tried to adapt a Mass Data Migrate tutorial, but got confused, and ended up launching Dolphin file explorer as root (pkexec env DISPLAY=$DISPLAY XAUTHORITY=$XAUTHORITY KDE_SESSION_VERSION=5 KDE_FULL_SESSION=true dolphin) and copy my source directory into //files directory via GUI.

I then installed the OCC Web app and ran: files:scan --all
…I tried to use the OCC tool via command line, but I was unable to figure out how to do that inside a docker image. Now, when I try to sync files on Windows 10 using the Nextcloud official client, I get errors saying: Not allowed because you don’t have permission to add files in that folder. I tried creating a simple .txt via the Nextcloud web interface, so it will let me add. However, it will not let me delete the file I just created.

I bashed into my Nextcloud container: docker exec -it Nextcloud bash
Then I went to the data directory: cd /data
Then I listed out permissions:

1. /data# ls -la
  2. total 60
  3. drwxrwx— 1 abc abc 248 Sep 19 11:30 .
  4. drwxr-xr-x 1 root root 232 Sep 16 00:34 …
  5. -rw-r–r-- 1 abc abc 324 Sep 16 00:10 .htaccess
  6. -rw-r–r-- 1 abc abc 0 Sep 16 00:10 .ocdata
  7. drwxr-xr-x 1 abc abc 10 Sep 16 00:20 Latrisha
  8. drwxr-xr-x 1 abc abc 62 Sep 19 12:47 Robert
  9. drwxr-xr-x 1 abc abc 0 Sep 16 00:13 __groupfolders
  10. drwxr-sr-x 1 abc abc 48 Sep 16 00:18 admin