Nextcloud Deck integration with iOS - a POC using Shortcuts!

Hi there,

First post here in this forum, but very long time user of Nextcloud (since the fork :blush:), from a Yunohost instance on a personal VPS.

I’m a big user of the great Deck app for Nextcloud, and own a few iOS devices.
Like a lot of iOS + Deck users, I have been seeking for an Nextcloud Deck app for a very long time…
Looks like it won’t arrive anytime soon… Even worse, using the web version of Nextcloud Deck on a phone, especially on a screen as small as my mightly iPhone 5SE, is a real nightmare.
I’m not a developer by any mean, and don’t have the time nor the knowledge to start one on my own.

However, I’ve discovered this morning that Deck features a REST API, and I wondered whether it was doable or not to use the iOS app Shortcuts to leverage that API. After a few hours playing with Shortcuts, it showed to be surprisingly easy and I managed to come up with a proof of concept which works quite well.

From my iPhone and with a fairly usable interface, I can now :

1. Chose a stack on which to create a new card
  2. Chose a title, description for my card
  3. If I want, chose a due date for my card
  4. If I want, chose one or more labels to assign to my card

The board on which all this happens is currently “hardcoded” but would be very easy to add another loop before to chose the board. I prefer to have one shortcut per board.

We could also do things like

• Chose a card, then change its stack or any other property
  • View the list of cards in a stack (already tried it, it’s very slow because it needs one API call per card in the stack if you want to retrieve the labels associated)

I’m very happy with my current solution, because it’s not from i phone that I want to move or manage cards anyway. However, being able to create a new card quickly on the fly from my iPhone was very critical to me.

For those who would be interest in my POC, you’ll find it here

How to use it ?