[ Newbie ] Hosting from a home server to Cpanel sub domain

So I’m trying to install Nextcloud on a machine with a 2TB disk, and I want users to be able to go to it via a subdomain created on cPanel, where my site hosting provider is Hostwinds. I am running Debian (command line only) and have tried tutorial after tutorial after guide but to no avail. I’m a newbie to this so this is all complicated, too. Is this possible and what do I need to do in order to get it up and running? Thanks.

Hello Blank,

I am an user having similar setup.

My main domain is hosted by a service provider with cPanel hosting and I have created subdomain and pointed that to my home server running NextCloud.

There is one major requirement which you first need to verify before proceeding.

Your Home ISP must assign a Public IP address to your router. It doesn’t need to be a Static IP, dynamic will do too. But if your ISP is using CG-NAT based WAN IP assignment for your router, in that case your setup becomes more complex where you need to use a VPS (Free Tire Amazon AWS will do too) for a VPN connection between your home server to use the Public IP address of your VPS.

So what kind of IP address are your getting from your ISP in your home router?

Thanks.

Sorry i do not use Cpanel but i think cpanel doesn’t make it easier, it just makes you think less about the setting yourself. To increase IT knowledge it would be better to not use tools lik Cpanel.

I think Cpanel only helps to you set e.g. CNAME. The rest you must configure at home without Cpanel.

Thank you all for the information. Naxal, ill be sure to get that information to you tomorrow its getting late where I am.

Yeah, cPanel probably isnt the best solution for when it comes to this stuff. I never really expected to get into anything fancy at the time, but later as life moved on I needed to get more things done with my small team of people.