New user needs help getting going

Hi!

I am a long time Dropbox user who now out of privacy and economy reasons want to setup my personal nextcloud using a Raspberry Pi3, my PC is running Windows 10.
I want a cloud that my whole family can use around the globe (we live in multiple countries). Let my just say that I am a linux beginner, so I don’t have a lot of experience with linux operating systems.

I have now tried several times to get nextcloud running, but there is always something that doesn’t work. There are a lot of tutorials on the web, but most of them are for owncloud, some are very complicated and I don’t follow what’s going on (such as the tutorial from Carsten Rieger), and there are a lot of tutorials in German.

My most successful attempt was by following this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pYo6seF29ts , which to a large extend follow the “Example Installation on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS Server” found in the nextcloud manual. Problem is that he uses Rasbian, meaning PHP5, and I couldn’t get SSL working after following his approach.

I very much would like to follow the nextcloud instruction manual and use Apache, MariaDB and PHP7, since I have the understanding that this is the recommended and best setup.

Problem 1: OS
I have been looking all over, and understand that I cannot use Rasbian since I want PHP7. I have tried Ubuntu 16.04 for raspberry pi 3, Ubuntu 16.04 Server for raspberry pi 3, but I can’t get them to boot.

I wanted to try Ubuntu MATE 16.04, but I doesn’t fit on my 8GB card even though it is supposed to.

I have tried to install Ubuntu Core 16 to be ready for the snap of nextcloud, but I need to import an SSH key to my account, and the instructions to do so is not valid for Windows.

From what I have read on this and other forums, the answer is basically to wait for the snap version of nextcloud for Pi3, since it is the easiest and best solutions for a simple setup. Is this correct?

Problem 2: Installation