Need mentor for GSOC Project

I am a Computer Engineering student and I am very passionate about open source development. This year I am planning on doing Google Summer of Code with gnome maps. The idea which I am gonna work on is “Syncing gnome maps with Next Cloud”.
So the main objectives of this project will be

1. To allow sharing of various place categories like favorites,visited,want to visit among different devices.

2. Searching among shared locations
    I have contributed to different gnome projects before, but I have never worked on anything related with OwnCloud or NextCloud.But I am very eager to learn about it and get started on contributing to gnome-maps.

Marcus (Gnome-Maps maintainer) has already agreed to mentor, I need mentor from nextcloud also.
Thanks

1 Like

Hi,

this sounds like a nice project. We have a maps app, but it has been a bit slient around development there https://github.com/nextcloud/maps. So for a proper gnome integration the app sill lacks of a proper API to store locations in lists for example.

@jan Didn’t wee discuss about moving this forward at the contributor week? Also with the integration of the PhoneTrack app?

@Scott1 Maybe you can give us some more details about the project you have planned.

1 Like

Hey!
juliushaertl
Yes, I realized that nextcloud/maps is not very active. Is there anyway of moving forward without a proper API there?
About project:
1)Different categories like favorites,visited,bucket list, etc will be available.
2)OSM services don’t allow for auto-search completion, but auto-search among
user’s places can be provided.
3)All of these categories will be synced across devices, these will be integrated with existing functionalities like finding route,distance between two points,etc.
4)Recent Searches,Routes,maybe relevant offline maps can also be synced
5)NextCloud Login can be handled through gnome online accounts.