Moving Nextcloud Data to external USB drive

Hello all - I am a newie with Nextcloud on a Banana Pi SBC with Ubuntu 20.04 - I’ve installed Nextcloud using Snap. Now to the problem …

I was wanting to migrate the Nextcloud data from the internal drive on the the Banana Pi to an external 8 TB USB storage drive. The drive currently has one NTFS partition, and I was looking for some admin tools (Nextcloud?) that I could utilize to relocate the Netcloud data.

Been looking at the docs as well as the Snap - no joy.

Can someone direct me to the documentation and tools for doing this?

Thanks in advance for any guidance or help.

Larry

Hello,

I am no expert but from my personal experience, I see Linux doesn’t play well with NTFS with advance apps due to permission errors. Better to use ext4.

How to Change Snap NextCloud user Data Directory?

Step 1 →

Connect the Disk and ensure it is detected and readable by Ubuntu by running command, sudo lsblk. This command should show an output with sdb or sdc (depending on number of drive installed) with your drive total capacity.

Step 2 →

Formatting the drive and mounting it under /media or /mnt (warning → Formatting the drive will erase all present data)

sudo mkdir /media/datadisk

sudo mkfs.ext4 -j -L DataDisk /dev/sdb

then

sudo blkid /dev/sdb → It will generate the disk UUID. Copy it and keep it for the next step.

sudo nano /etc/fstab → It will open up a configuration file under text edititor, don’t change anything just add below line at the end of the file → /dev/disk/by-uuid/4006fe68-879a-41ed-b4da-cc0e6bc6b4bb /media/datadisk auto nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show,x-gvfs-name=NewHDD 0 0 (replace the UUID of this command with your own) Now save and exit the file (CTRL+X → SHIFT+Y → ENTER)

sudo mount -a

Step 3 →

Changeing the nextcloud to the new location

sudo snap connect nextcloud:removable-media → This is to allow snap nextcloud access out of the confinement to external file system.

sudo snap stop nextcloud