Mirroring whole cloud on second storage

Hi! I dont know if I post at the right place, I’m new here and find the forum pretty hard To understand.

I’m a newbie in this world and trying To setup my own cloud in order To store personal files.

My cloud works at this moment (running it on a raspberry pi 3 with dietpi os), but I use a USB key as storage.

I’m pretty afraid that the USB stick could fail at any moment and I wouldn’t like to loose my important files. I’d like to know if it is possible to have a mirrored storage.

What I mean is that I’d like to have 2 storages (2 HDD or USB sticks) plugged in my pi and everytime I upload something on the main storage, it copies itself on the second one.

It would be even better if everytime I drop a file in the cloud from somewhere in the world, it copies itself on my main pc, but since its not always running I dont think that could be a thing.

Is such a thing possible? If yes, how could I do that?

Last question is : If I got 2 storages plugged in the pi, can i switch from one To the other while being on the web panel? If yes, it could be a solution for me to upload twice each files even tho it would be less convenient.

Thanks again

That would be my thought as well.
What is your backup strategy? How are you doing your backups (files and db)?

You can mirror files pretty easy using rsync.

One recomendation: Do not use USB key storages at all.

I would consider that more of a backup than a mirror.

I don’t know if RPi supports this (and this is more of a Linux question than a Nextcloud question), but perhaps you could set up mdadm software RAID-1 for the USB drives? That would be an actual mirror where the system would continue to run if one of the drives failed.

I successfully set up a mdadm raid 1 for my two usb drives on my pi