Looking for HTTPS help

I’m trying to get nextcloud up and running and I’m having much difficulty with HTTPS (I’m far from an expert in this stuff). I previously had a Snap installation up and running and that worked OK for a while, but not having HTTPS was becoming a problem. So I switched to Docker, but I’m still having issues.

The critical pieces of information are that my ISP blocks port 80 (but not 443) and that I’m using afraid.org as a DDNS.

Some people mentioned using a reverse proxy to get around the port blocking, but that’s a little over my head. I’d appreciate if somebody could help me out. Thanks

You can use 443 only: Port 443 open, 80 closed - #5 by gas85

I have a similar issue I think. I have another service listening on ports 80 and 443, so I had to change my Nextcloud Snap instance listening ports to 81 and 444.

My install is working fine, but my HTTPS certificate is now not trusted (I use Firefox).

Am I right in thinking this isn’t an issue for personal use? It’s still HTTPS in address bar (just not seemingly trustworthy according to browsers because not 80 and 443).

Appreciate any suggestions on how I can properly secure my connection on these ports.

EDIT / SOLUTION: I have now solved my own issue by simply rededicating ports 80 and 443 for Nextcloud and enabling Let’s Encrypt. Now I just need to set cert to auto renew… Thanks to all for suggestions etc. @japs3r @Schmu

1 Like

I guess the other service listening on port 80 and 443 is also using the http/https protocol? Then you could use a reverse proxy to serve multiple domains for the same ip and port pair since the requested host is conatined in the http header. SSL termination can also be handled by the reverse proxy for both services (your other service and nextcloud).

Thanks, I’ve seen mention of reverse proxies before. Any resources/guides for setting this up that you’d recommend?