Is NextCloud web interface recommended as a picture and movie viewer?

Hey

bloody newbie here. I wish to migrate from OneDrive to NextCloud.

is NextCloud web interface recommended as a picture and movie viewer? Do you use it daily as a web based pic and vid viewer? No local client? What are the limitations?

Hardware:
I wish to buy a HP ProLiant MicroServer G8 and install NextCloud on Ubuntu. Is this a good idea? Any hints?

rgs

It is much faster if you sync the files to your local file system. I mostly used images, and for large ones (e.g. from high-resolution DSLR cameras) for the first view it takes some time to generate the preview. And once the preview is generated, it depends on your network connection.

I didn’t try the movie viewer a lot. Some codecs are working but there is not such a large support like in some desktop players.

But you can give it a try yourself: demo.nextcloud.com or Demo instances of 9, 10, 11 and 12 now live

1 Like

Before you buy hardware, I’d test it in a virtual machine and get to know it a bit better. It would be a pitty to buy hardware and in the end, you don’t like the product for some reason.

For the small home server market, you can probably find some computer magazines that tested these products. I’d use an i3 processor rather than celeron. RAM is important, 8 GB is a nice start, I would use a device where I could upgrade to at least 16 GB. There are several of these home server devices, I have only seen a intel NUC which was very nice but please check some independent tests yourself.

1 Like

thanks for the demo, very helpful

I didn’t find a video player plugin and in default mode he offer me to download the *.mp4 to disk. So it means NextCloud doesn’t offer a web based video player?

Gallery normally plays my mp4 files fine, though .mov and other lesser generally supported formats it downloads.