Is Cloudflare Tunnel safe (privacy focused)?

I’ve been following DBTech tutorials to setup a Nextcloud instance and I want to use Cloudflare Tunnel to access it over the internet.

Cloudflare Tunnel provides DDOS protection, firewall and many other features to keep the website safe from external factors, but is the Tunnel private (privacy focused)? Like is it truly encrypted? When I upload a file or use Nextcloud Talk to chat with my friends, is it possible that Cloudflare can view the decrypted contents?

The free plan doesn’t allow usage of any other SSL certificates, you have to use the one provided by Cloudflare, and the origin server can only use SSL certificates from Cloudflare.

I’ve read few posts saying it’s not really private, but the Nextcloud AIO documentation says it can be hosted behind a Cloudflare Tunnel.

Is there a way to harden Cloudflare Tunnel? If it isn’t private, are there any other good alternatives?

I’m new to self hosting, so I’m sorry if these things sound trivial, but I really need to know if the service (Cloudflare Tunnel) is privacy focused before using it.

No. Using solely cloudflare, is not truly privacy safe.

However here is a brief recap of what happens and then what a tunnel is and how it SHOULD be used.

When you writes “new to self hosting” I will automatically assume you have setup a server in your own perimeter (home address), and is looking into using Cloudflare ONLY to provide a publicly reachable interface, so you can reach your Nextcloud from anywhere.

All your data resides on your nextcloud in your home. So far so good. You should ALWAYS use HTTPS, where the TLS trafic terminates at your own premise (on your own network). For this to be possible, there are three options, whereas two is considered truly trustworthy:

1:
Reverse proxy with TLS termination (can be Letsencrypt), proxying through a VPN tunnel to your on premise Nextcloud webserver, setup also with TLS (self signed). NOT truly privacy trustworthy.

2: