Integrate legal & privacy info

I’m not a law expert, but for me it seems that all online-NC-installations (private or commercial) are not compliant to current law.

According to current law situation (at least in germany/EU) the admin of a website is pledged to inform users about legal (Impressum) and privacy (Datenschutz) while visiting his/her website.

For me a solution for this is essential!

My idea how to solve:
There should be sth. (maybe an app) to enable and personalize this pages which must be accessible from all webpages.
For commercial use there might be the need to show a terms-and-condition-page (AGB) as well.

Any other ideas?

2 Likes

You could try External Sites app as a workaround and point to a shared file on your server (txt, pdf, jpg).
Definitely need this feature. Good observation!

This also covers somehow the privacy discussion I started some time ago. In that case more importantly for users, than for visitors.

The lack of interest (# of views) for this topic does not state the unimportance but the unawareness of possible consequences!

@jospoortvliet Is there a plan to integrate a solution for the fulfillment of legal requirements? In my opinion this should be a core feature of NC and therefore be provided by Nextcloud GmbH.

You can use the footer line in the login screen for the necessary legal link. And, you should include the legal info in the contract you are granting your individual users during setup / payment agreement / training. Good that you pointed out this one! The legal part applies to the public part of your website, not the closed/private part because here, it should be covered by your customer/user contracts.

1 Like

For logged in users you can use an External Site (separate server app) to point to a Legal Notice. But this is not the best solution because this link is only available through the menu, is not visible always, and displayed in an iframe (not allowed on every server).